Peter Schärer
Treatment Planning

Tribute to Prof. Dr. Peter Schärer, M.S.

Prof. Dr. Peter Schärer participated in a generation that forged modern dentistry. Professor Schärer was a driving force among true and great giants that included; Gerald Kramer, Jan Lindhe, Sig Socransky, Morton Amsterdam, Frank Celenza, John McLean, Jack Preston, Peter Dawson, R Sheldon Stein, Saul Schluger, Herb Shillingberg, Peter Dawson, George Zarb, Lloyd Miller. Ralph Youdelis, Ralph Phillips, Willi Geller and H.W. Haase. Prof. Schärer actively debated and was a driving force for more knowledge and proof in the fields of Prosthodontics, Periodontics, Occlusion, Implant Dentistry and Dental Materials. The excellence we enjoy today in the profession and in patient care worldwide, is directly related to their curiosity and passion. This was the greatest generation and we all owe our careers to them.

Professor Schärer did not only enjoy podium prosthodontics he was passionately dedicated to his vision and to the University of Zürich, recruiting many of the great minds and young talent to learn with him and grow the specialties of Prosthodontics, Periodontics and Dental Laboratory Technology. He brought together individuals who are our generation’s greatest teachers and Professors. No individual Professor in Prosthodontics has produced more great leaders than Peter. Fritz Kopp, Urs Belser, Carlo Marinello, Jörg Strub, Konrad Meyenberg, Ueli Grunder and others have set standards as formally trained specialists that we all follow today. Peter’s expectations for excellence and world class Dental Technology and education developed Alwin Schönenberger, Arnold Wohlwend and Nic Pietrobon. The International College of Prosthodontics and the European Academy of Esthetic Dentistry both were forged in his image.

He was named a professor and head of the department of Crown and Bridge Prosthodontics and Dental Materials of the University of Zürich Dental School. His many students and fellow faculty members rejoiced in his supreme clinical talents, academic curiosity, inspiring lectures and his close and interrogating conversations. As a world recognized professor, Dr Schärer presentations emphasized many different concerns in prosthodontics including ceramics, color, occlusion, periodontics and esthetics. He was known for his challenging inquisitive debate, common-sense dentistry, humor, and a strong ethical message. He not only helped produce many fine prosthodontists, Peter was a champion for the dental laboratory industry and trained and inspired many world-class technologists. He created one of the first, and certainly the one of the finest graduate program in Dental Technology worldwide.

He is survived by his wife Saiko, and his daughters Lilly and Isabelle. Peter and Saiko were a team and very much set a standard for many to learn from. They were protective of each other and that allowed Peter to accomplish even more.

It is difficult to sufficiently recognize and commemorate the accomplishments and devotion that Peter Schärer had for his University, the Academies he was so active in, Esthetic Dentistry, Prosthodontics, his students and dear colleagues. Peter was a teacher’s teacher, a Doctor’s Doctor, a friend’s friend and a great Swiss gentleman who had an abiding love for his beautiful country. The profession and society is better for the life he shared with us.

A life’s accomplishments can best be valued by what one gives back to society.

By that measure, Peter, you could not have given us more and your legacy is profound. We could not be more proud of you and we can only hope that you would always remain proud of us.

Prof. Dr. Kenneth Malament, Boston, USA

Family, Friends &
The European Academy of Esthetic Dentistry

Case Presenters

2001: Carlo P. Marinello
2003: Argiris Pissiotis / Nitzan Fuhrer
2004: Nitzan Bichacho
2005: Eric Van Dooren
2006: Greg Audi / Inaki Gamborena
2007: Alex Grous / Marcus Beschnidt
2008: –
2009: Franck Bonnet / Giano Ricci
2010: Stefan Paul
2011: Andrea Ricci / Marcelo Calamita
2012: Inaki Gamborena / Otto Zuhr
2013: Stavros Pelekanos/ Konrad Meyenberg
2014: Stephan Rebele / Francesco Mintrone
2015: Tal Morr / Stefan Paul
2016: Diego Capri
2017: Wael Att
2018: Arturo Imbelloni / Koray Feran
2019: Niklas Keller / Patrick Gugerli
2022: Martina Stefanini / Nuno Sousa Dias